What Are People Hungry For?

What indescribable charisma makes some people stand out?

Anne Emerick
3 min readFeb 10, 2022
Drawing of Martin Luther King, Jr.
Image of Martin Luther King, Jr. provided by OpenClipart-Vectors from Pixabay

People who grab our attention share a common trait. Let’s look at the words of several charismatic leaders.

Martin Luther King Jr. (I Have a Dream speech):

“I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.”

John F. Kennedy (May 25, 1961):

“I believe that this Nation should commit itself to achieving the goal, before this decade is out, of landing a man on the Moon and returning him safely to Earth.”

Barack Obama, (2004 Democratic Convention speech):

“There is not a liberal America and a conservative America: There is the United States of America. There is not a Black America and a White America and Latino America and Asian America: There’s the United States of America.”

Steve Jobs answering questions about Apple product decisions:

“I’ve always found is that you’ve got to start with the customer experience and work backwards to the technology.”

Madame C.J. Walker (first black female millionaire):

“I am not satisfied in making money

--

--

Anne Emerick

Programmer by day. Author by night. As I put on running tights, I imagine I’m a superhero. Creator of Unemploymentville.com and No-Work Spanish.