Please Shut Up about QUIET Quitting!

What is quiet about all this noise?

Anne Emerick
2 min readSep 23, 2022
Photo by Monstera from Pexels

If I hear the term ‘quiet quitting’ one more time I’m going to scream. Why is everyone so obsessed with it?

Originally ‘quiet quitting’ was a term for people who were putting in less effort at work than they could. Now I hear about people ‘quiet quitting’ their relationships.

And Front Office Sports reports that “Brands Are Quiet Quitting Brett Favre Amid Welfare Scandal.”

What’s next?

Will parenting magazines write about “Coping with Your Child’s Quiet Quitting Behaviors?”

Photo by Ketut Subiyanto from Pexels

Or “What to do when your dog quiet quits on you?”

Photo by Vidar Nordli-Mathisen on Unsplash

I have friends who struggle with unmanageable workloads. It’s important we figure out how to prevent burnout and stress. But, can we please figure out some new words to use?

I’m Anne Emerick. I’ve also written:

Thanks for reading.

--

--

Anne Emerick

Programmer by day. Author by night. As I put on running tights, I imagine I’m a superhero. Creator of Unemploymentville.com and No-Work Spanish.